Southington Police Department Facebook Southington Police Department Twitter
For Emergenices Call: 911 For Routine Calls: 860-378-1600
Southington Police Department The Town of Southington Home Page
SPD Home SPD About Us SPD Roster SPD Downloads SPD Arrest Log SPD Divisions SPD Records SPD News SPD Contact us SPD Act On It

Southington Police Department About UsThe Southington Police Department was organized in 1936. It is governed by a Board of Police Commissioners, consisting of five civilian members. It is commanded by the Chief of Police, two Captains, three Lieutenants, eleven Sergeants, and seven Detectives. It is currently comprised of sixty six sworn regular and six sworn supernumerary officers plus 19 civilian personnel, including two Animal Control Officers. Southington is geographically located almost in the center of the State of Connecticut. The Department is primarily responsible for the public safety of the approximately 43,000 residents of the community and patrolling the roads within our 36.5 square miles.


The mission of the Southington Police Department is to provide quality public service based on high ethical and professional standards. This mission is to be attained through a sincere commitment to public service. It includes preserving the peace and order of the Town through conflict management and enforcement of criminal laws and quasi-criminal laws by officers who are committed to the rule of law and have a unique authority to investigate, arrest, search, seize, and use reasonable and necessary force. It includes being both responsive and responsible to the public we serve.

Our mission is public service and we are proud of it.

Edward F. Geary was appointed the first police chief in Southington in 1927 and remained head of the department through June, 1954. He was succeeded by Robert Triano who retired April 1, 1979. Chief Triano remained as a consultant for three months. In August of 1979, Joseph Sollack was appointed chief. Chief Sollack retired in February of 1983 and Phillip D'Agostino became Southington's fourth chief. Chief D'Agostino retired in April of 1991 and William B. Perry was appointed Acting Chief. In August of 1991, William B. Perry formally became Southington's fifth chief of police. On March 2nd 2002, Chief William B. Perry retired. On October 10th, 2002 John F. Daly was promoted to Chief to become Southington's sixth Chief of Police.

Before the Town of Southington officially sponsored a police force in 1927, the department was managed by seven elected constables. The elected constables in the 1925-26 fiscal year were Thomas Murphy, Timothy J. Foley, Graham R. Thompson, Sampson Smith, Lewis W. Bowers, Randall B. Fish
and Daniel Douglass.

Southington Police Department © 2016